Sacrament of 

Holy Orders

The Sacraments Serving the Church

"Then Jesus said to his disciples: If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me."

-[Matthew 16:24]

The Sacrament of Holy Orders 

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ's priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles; thus, the Catechism of the Catholic Church refers to the Sacrament of Holy Orders as "the sacrament of apostolic ministry."

"Ordination" comes from the Latin word ordinatio, which means to incorporate someone into an order.In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, a man is incorporated into the priesthood of Christ, at one of three levels: the episcopate, the priesthood, or the diaconate.

The Priesthood of Christ

St. Theresa was very blessed to have one of its Parishioners called to the priesthood Rev. David A. Harris who was ordained at St. Joseph Cathedral in Manchester on June 3 2017. We continue to pray for Father David and all men called to the priesthood.

The priesthood was established by God among the Israelites during their exodus from Egypt. God chose the tribe of Levi as priests for the nation. Their primary duties were the offering of sacrifice and prayer for the people.

Christ, in offering Himself up for the sins of all mankind, fulfilled the duties of the Old Testament priesthood once and for all. But just as the Eucharist makes that sacrifice present to us today, so the New Testament priesthood is a sharing in the eternal priesthood of Christ. While all believers are, in some sense, priests, some are set aside to serve the Church as Christ Himself did.

Discerning Your Vocation to the Priesthood

Please visit the Diocese of Manchester's Vocation Page to find out more about discerning your vocation.